The Firearms Forum banner

Pistol caliber carbine

4K views 26 replies 16 participants last post by  Alpo 
#1 ·
First let me say I have no long gun experience since basic training in 1972. I'm thinking about adding a long gun for home defense/zombie hunting. I'm thinking a pistol caliber that I already reload would make sense ie. 40S&W 9mm luger.
What do I need to consider??

#6 ·
I'll second that. It's a fun, satisfying gun to shoot. Mine's a .38/357.

We had a competition a while back, one guy had a .44 mag and was using factory ammunition, full loads. He would shoot a few rounds, then have to shake the numbness out of his hands.

I reload, use .38 powder loads in .357 cases. It's an easy, accurate load to shoot, with good precision, and I can shoot it all day.

#11 ·
I bought one of these in .45 acp a couple years ago. I thought for the price it would be OK. My expectations were low, but I must admit that I've been pleasantly surprised. I've only had one failure to eject in about 1500 rounds, and that's probably because I ran about 250 rounds of some real dirty Tulammo through it without cleaning it, and put it up for a month before firing it again.

They definitely aren't an Armalite, Bushmaster, or Colt, but if you just want to have some fun shooting they are great.

#8 ·
My Beretta CX4 is proving to be an accurate, reliable little carbine. Mine is 9mm, takes Beretta 92 magazines so 30 round magazines are an option and uses the same ammo as my CZ pistols. Can also be had in .40 S&W or .45 ACP.
Dang that's my gun!! Same site and strap!

I love mine also. This gun is a pleasure to shoot. The Sub 2000 Keltec..not so much.

The steel bolt in the stock of the Keltec runs in the stock right where your cheek weld is.
Mine jarred my teeth loose. Now, the Keltec is a simple, reliable and incredibly accurate gun. It just not for me.

When I bought the Beretta it was love at firs sight. It is a heavy, rugged firearm.