Pistol for whitetails

Discussion in 'The Hunting & Fishing Forum' started by warpig, Feb 24, 2003.

1. warpig

warpig Guest

Chief 101
    V.I.P. Member
    (3/21/02 9:41:15 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Pistol for whitetails
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I know the .45acp is not considered a hunting caliber, but I'v been shooting a Kimber target for about 2 months now and have been very suprised at the how accurate it is. I hunt every year with a couple of Rugers in 44mag and 45lc. And have done fine with them, but I would dearly love to try this Kimber on Whitetails. I'm just getting into handloading so working up a load wont be a problem. I was thinking about a 200gr. softpoint loaded to +p velocity. But factory ammo wouldnt be a problem either...

tuckerd1
    *TFF Staff*
    (3/22/02 8:26:28 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Pistol for whitetails
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Chief, I'm have been working on loads of Speer Gold Dot in 185, 200 & 230 JHP for the 45 Super to shoot from a SA V-16. The V-16 is a 6" ported 1911 setup for the 45 Super or the ACP. I have tried the loads from Texas Ammunition Co., loaded with the Hornady 185, 200 and 230 gr XTP-JHP, but they did not shoot very accurate out of this pistol and they are VERY expensive.

This is what TAC claims from their loads: "muzzle velocity of 1200fps with the Hornady 230 grain XTP-JHP and 230 grain FMJ-FP and a whopping 529 foot pounds of energy at 100 yards out of the Springfield V-16 (6" ported barrel)."

I believe the 45 ACP can be a good round for whitetail deer provided you can obtain the 500 foot pounds of energy most states require for muzzle energy from a handgun.

I have read reports of the Kimber being modified for the 45 Super round.
    See A Kimber in .45 SuperĀ® for under $8?
    Also see, .45 SuperĀ® Handload Data