The Firearms Forum banner

Pistol size for home defense?

4K views 27 replies 16 participants last post by  carver 
#1 ·
What is the ideal size handgun for home defense? I understand a compact, or even sub-compact is necessary for concealed carry, but what about the pistol at your bed side? Would a full size pistol be preferred? I'm having trouble understanding what pistols are best in certain situations. I have little handgun experience... I noly shot a few .22s, a 9mm and .45. :confused:

#2 ·
I am no professional, but this is my opinion.

The pistol that you are most familiar with and can shoot and handle efficiently will be your best bet.

If you are in a panic or high adrenaline situation you want your actions to be automatic and simple, if you don't get the safety off or a round chambered the handgun will do you absolutely no good.

#3 · (Edited)
My vote is also for what you shoot best, but there are limits that you must face, the pistol being the least powerful of all guns. I perfer a 12ga shotgun for home defence, but there is a pistol by my bed, and it's a .45. Yes, the adrenaline will be flowing, you may have tunnel vision, you will probably lose your fine motor skills, and your hearing will deminish! Do you really want a small hand gun with a short sight radius as your primary SD handgun? One that has been proven to not be all that accurate, and is not a one shot stopper? And remember, you may have to shoot thru a wall!

#6 ·
Big bullets make big holes!

#7 · (Edited)
Yes, the adrenaline will be flowing, you may have tunnel vision, you will probably lose your fine motor skills, and your hearing will deminish!