plain brass or plated?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Chazz, Oct 8, 2009.

1. Chazz

Chazz New Member

I know there must be an advantage to nickle plating, but what is it? If I buy 1000 cases, is the plating worth the extra cost?

This is one of about 4000 questions I'm sure I'll have, as I'm just getting started.
  2. Duckboats

Duckboats New Member

Get brass, it's a softer metal.
  3. JohnTheCalifornian

JohnTheCalifornian Member

Welcome!

Nickle plated brass is just a little harder then normal brass. And some will say it will feed into your weapon just a tad better than plain brass. Plus it looks prettier when you have it loaded with some mean looking bullets.:D

First thing you should do is get yourself a couple of reloading manuals. You need to be able to read and FOLLOW the instructions inside. Otherwise you may end up hurting yourself or someone around you. I make it sound scary, but it really isnt along as you follow the instructions inside the manuals.

The latest editions of the Lyman, Speer are a good place to start. You may also want to consider getting "Modern Reloading, 2nd edition" as well. Inside all these books is a wealth of information.

If you are trying to save money and are on a tight budget then the Lee presses, dies, and tools cant be beat. There will be others to tell you Lee is no good and there will be some like myself that will tell you the exact opposite. There are many different press and die manufactures out there.

Here is a list of websites that I know of that offer presses, dies, etc..:
    http://www.midwayusa.com/browse/BrowseCategories.aspx?tabId=1&categoryId=680&categoryString=9315***731***
    http://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com/department.asp?dept=%52%45%4C%4F%41%44%49%4E%47&dept2=%52%45%4C%4F%41%44%49%4E%47%20%50%52%45%53%53%45%53&dept3=%50%52%45%53%53%20%4F%4E%4C%59
    http://www.natchezss.com/category.cfm?subCategory=475&catLevel=2