Please help identify and value a pair antique pistols

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by dmerz2, Nov 24, 2012.

1. dmerz2

dmerz2 New Member

This pair of antique pistols has been called dueling pistols by some and target pistols by others. Each pistol is 16 inches long and 7 inches high with a 9 1/2 inch barrel. The guns are numbered "1" and "2". Inscribed on the top of the barrel is: Fr. Jaeger Hofbuchenmachen Wiesbaden. On one side of the barrel is inscribed "Guss" and on the other side "Stahl". I think he caliber is .36

Please help identify and value these pieces. Thanks, in advance, for any and all information. Doug

PS: I several more pics but only 4 were allowed.

Attached Files:

2. deadin

deadin Well-Known Member

Are they rifled or smoothbore?
  3. dmerz2

dmerz2 New Member

I am not a gun expert - I think they are smoothbore.

Attached Files:

4. hrf

hrf Well-Known Member

Very nice rifled target pistols; Guss Stahl = cast steel.

The rear sight appears to have adjustable elevation.
  5. Jim K

Jim K New Member

A beautiful pair of pistols and refreshingly plain for that era. A Google search turned up other guns by Fr. (Franz?) Jaeger, most very elaborately engraved and inlaid.

"Hofb├╝chsenmacher" means gun maker to the court, presumably at that time (c. 1840-1850) the court of the Duke of Nassau whose seat was at Wiesbaden. That does not mean that the guns were made for the Duke (it is like the British "By Appointment To..."), and the guns' plainness indicates they were made for someone far less wealthy than they Duke of Nassau.

Wiesbaden is in the south of Germany, near Frankfurt am Main, and is (or was) the site of a large U.S. Army installation.