The Firearms Forum banner

PLEASE HELP me identify a Flintlock holster pistol

6K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  rhmc24 
#1 ·
Hi,

I am a french student in conservation based in London and I am currently working on a Flintlock full-stock holster pistol.

I would need some help to identify the period and country of manufacture please...

There are some relief carvings around the lock, the barrel tang, the fore stock and the side plate.
The brass pommel is finely engraved with strawberry foliage and is flanked by two long spurs on each side of the stock. The timber of the stock is English Walnut.
It is fitted with a floral engraved brass trigger guard and an engraved escutcheon (no arms).
There are two baluster brass ramrod pipes. The forward ramrod pipe is engraved.

The two-stage steel round barrel with smooth bore is 255mm in length and 18mm calibre. A fade mark 'TS' and a crown is visible on the proper left side near the breech. another mark 'IG' is stamped under the barrel.

The side plate and the ramrod are missing.

I haven't seen the lock as it is detached but the owner certified it is a flintlock and it bears no mark.

Through initial research, and based on the design and materials, I think it is an english pistol from 1680 to 1740.

What do you think?

Many thanks in advance.

G

P.s. One more thing: I can find the reason why the barrel is 'two-stage' (the barrel was made in 2 pats but for what purpose? any idea?
Photograph Photography Snapshot Close-up Silver

Brown Trigger Tan Shotgun Composite material

Brown Line Trigger Black Tan

Grey Close-up Silver

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
Yes, I think it is English, but it is hard to go beyond that without the lockplate.