The Firearms Forum banner

Please recommend a BP revolver that's not classed as a firearm by the ATF

5K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  TomBk 
#1 ·
Hi, newbie here. I can't buy a firearm because I'm a non-resident but I would like the best weapon permitted by the ATF and the relevant state laws. I want it for self defense and have read many useful posts here about firing every week, cleaning, keeping out the damp etc - very interesting and helpful stuff, so a big thank-you to all those who have contributed their expertise. But despite all that reading I still have some newbie questions:

- could I legally buy and use cartridges, or are they defined as 'non-antique' because they're, to quote the ATF,"rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition". If so, what cartridges do you recommend and where could I buy them?

- this item looks very practical for self-defense www.impactguns.com/store/633185102.html The ad says 'no FFL required to purchase'. Huh? Wouldn't it disqualify a BP revolver from being an antique?

Any other tips on how to legally use an 'antique' for self-defense most welome - thanks in advance.

#2 ·
- this item looks very practical for self-defense www.impactguns.com/store/633185102.html The ad says 'no FFL required to purchase'. Huh? Wouldn't it disqualify a BP revolver from being an antique?
This item is not a firearm, and therefore it does not require the purchaser to have an FFL. However, installing this onto a "non-firearm" black powder revolver is making a firearm. For most Americans, making a firearm for personal use is legal. But this is only true if that person is legal to own a firearm.

If you are not legal to buy a gun, I doubt you're legal to make one, but a lawyer (which I am not) would be a more reliable source.

#3 ·
DR, I don't know if we have any lawyers in this forum, and I imagine that people are reluctant to give you legal advice. I'm not a lawyer, either, so my answer may not be 100% correct... here goes.....