Pondering a 40, need advice

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by oldbrass, Feb 11, 2012.

1. oldbrass

oldbrass New Member

As the title sais I`m pondering a 40 s&w. I must admit I have little experience with automatics besides my 1911 and beretta 9mm I used in the army, only have the 1911 and I`m getting the bug for a new toy with a higher mag capacity..I`m leaning toward a springfield XDM40 4.5
    I`m a lefty and desire an ambidextrous mag release, I`m not in a rush and would really appreciate some opinions from you 40 cal gurus..

Thanx, Ken
  2. Helix_FR

Helix_FR Active Member

One of the things I took into consideration when buying my 40 is how it handled the 40. Some Models seemed to have more muzzle flip than others when it came to firing them. Sig 226's and the beretta 96 seemed to be the worst offendors but then it probably what how they fit me. I have 2 beretta 92's in 9 and love them and had a 229 in 9 and it was a smooth shooter. If muzzle flip does not bother you then none of the will mean anything but what I've found in the 12 or so 40's ive shot the 3 with the least flip were the S&W M&P 40, CZ P07 Duty, and the FN FNX40. All are close in price range with the CZ being slightly cheaper than the rest and Its the one I own. Hell I own 3 other CZ's whats one more;) The FNX 40 felt more like a 9mm when fired while the CZ and M&P were slightly more flippy but also slightly smaller. I love my CZ but can't say anything bad at all about the other 2. Very good guns to consider. The XD is a great gun but the way its designed and balanced (top heavy with the majority of the slide weight in front of your hand) it didn't handle as well imo. Reacquisition of the target was slower than with the other 3.
  3. Twicepop

Twicepop Well-Known Member