powder question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Sota, Oct 30, 2011.

1. Sota

Sota New Member

Gentlemen,
    Pardon my ignorance. I'm a newbie to reloading. I will be loading 223, 22-250, and 308. the bullet weights i am thinking of are 69, 75 for 223, 175 for the 308, and maybe 50 for the 22-250.
    What i am wondering about is... how does one know which powder to start with? I'd rather not buy lb after lb trying to find out what works.Come to think of it... how do you choose which primer also?

Thanks in advance,
    SOTA
  2. rcairflr

rcairflr Well-Known Member

In your .223 what make, model and barrel twist. If you have a 1:12 or 1:14 twist, 55 grain and smaller bullets will work best. If you have a 1:9 twist barrel than the 69-75 grain bullets will work good.

Again for the .223 Varget works great in the 69-75 bullets and H335 and Benchmark have worked great for me in the 55 grain and smaller bullets.
  3. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    In your reloading manual they will list several different powders for any load you can think of. Usually at the top of the page they explain about the cartridge you want to reload, and recomend a load for that caliber. They will usually include what primer to use, as well as the powder, bullet, and brass.
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Sota:

If you just want ammo that goes "bang" then any listed powder in the reloading manual will do the job. But you must start at the starting load and work the load up if you wish to maximize the velocity. Along the way you will probably find a combination that shoots more accurately than the others. For that powder that may be the load to use. Or you may think you need max velocity. But if you see any signs of excessive pressure then your load development has to stop there and the powder charge reduced.