PPK RZM Bad Purchase

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by sd8, Feb 7, 2010.

1. sd8

sd8 New Member

Good evening,

I recently purchased an RZM PPK without doing any research for $1500. It is SN 841002. Since my purchase I have done some research and found the last three digits should be scratched into the slide thru the ejection port. My eyes are not good even with glasses so I took a snap shot and blew it up. To me it looks like it ends with a "2" or "3" but it sure is not lead by to zeros. (photos attached). My question to the experts is:
    1. what digits are those in the slide?
    2. How much did I lose on my purchse?
    3. What should I pay for a real RZM PPK?

I thank you all in advance for your time and expertise.

SD8

Attached Files:

2. RJay

RJay Well-Known Member

IAW my reference, the entire block of serial numbers 820000 to 845000 was devoted to RZM. Now I'm the first to admit that I'm not a Walther expert, we do have a regular , Danny who is very well versed on these animals, however, the gun looks authentic. I find nothing ion my references that state the last three digits are supposed to be scratched on the inter part of the slide. The slide is right, serial number correct, grips look good and the magazine looks correct. I think you have a RZM PPK.
  3. Jim K

Jim K New Member

IMHO, the price was high given the condition of the gun. But alternatively, RZM guns don't turn up on every street corner, so if you want one, you take it when you can.

The authority for the 820000-845000 numbers is Walther, so I have no reason to think it is not accurate and I agree with RJay that yours is genuine.

(I don't know if it would bother you or not, but that pitting looks like blood spatter. I have seen much the same thing on guns used in suicides.)

Jim
  4. sd8

sd8 New Member

First I would like to thank you for responding.