Practical Advice on working up loads...

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by polishshooter, Feb 22, 2011.

1. polishshooter

polishshooter Active Member

OK, I am at the point I can start working up loads for my Swift. Ultimately I want to come up pwith the most ACCURATE load period no matter how fast, which will probably be with 50gr + loads and then because i CAN ;) I want to find the most accurate FAST load 4000+ with 40 grain Varmint bullets

But I have never done this before, so I need PRACTICAL advice.

I mean, I have loaded for years for pistols, and I have all my manuals and suggested loads, and have loaded rifle (Very little. for my son's 6.5 Arisaka , my .223 AR, and my 7.62R Mosins, but I only loaded mid range military spec loads for them, never "worked up loads") so I am aware of all the technical steps and trimming and seating .etc.

What I need is the PRACTICAL stuff to make it easier at the range...

Kirk gave me my starting load with bullet and powder, which I already have, and says to increase by .2 grains until I find the sweet load, and I get that....

But what I need is suggestions HOW you do that...or tell me how YOU do it so I can get pointers.

Like, do I load 5 rounds at each weight, 10 rounds, 20 rounds...do I shoot 3 round groups, 5 round groups, clean between each load, how long does it take, etc.

And I have seen benchrest guys load at the range...should I or do any of you take your stuff to the range and load the next highest load between strings while the barrel cools? What works best...

How does the scale work outside if there is a breeze? (I have a traditional Lyman balance scale)

Any of the little tricks of the trade you guys use, and especially little things I haven't even thought of yet :rolleyes:I would appreciate to hear!

Thanks.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2011
  2. todd51

todd51 Well-Known Member

Shooter, I think one thing you should read about is the Audette Ladder test.