Primer Differences

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Cowboy6373, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Cowboy6373

Cowboy6373 New Member

Does anyone know if you can mix and match primers in recipes listed in reloading manuals. For example, I mostly use CCI, but I see some recipes in the Hornady manual that reference Federal primers. Is there really a difference between CCI, Federal, Winchester, etc?
  2. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

Others may disagree, so I can only speak from personal experience. I have been handloading ammo for 30+ years and I don't care what brand of (US-made) primers I use. I have never found any difference in performance or accuracy.
  3. herohog

herohog New Member

See this please!

http://www.6mmbr.com/primerpix.html
  4. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

I have found differences in primers, but not, in my opinion, enough to matter.

CCI primers are harder than most, while Federal has the softest. I used CCI exclusively, until I bought a Smith 642, which is a hammerless 38 Special, and found that, because of the shorter stroke, it would not reliably (as in "every single time") pop CCI. I went to Winchester for my Small Pistol. This solved the problem. But I still had bunches of CCI primed 38s around. I found that, if I had both CCI and Winchester primed 38s in a gun, even though the rest of the load was the same, the Winchester primed ones kicked harder.

I assume that means they have a hotter and/or longer spark, which would make the powder burn quicker. Maybe. I don't know. But I do know that they kick more.

So, at least with the CCI and Winchester SP, there is a difference. But, as I say, not enough to matter. I have not changed my load. The guns shoot to the same point of aim (or close enough for government work - I'm not doing bullseye shooting with these).

As I said, I used CCI exclusively. If the load in the book called for Federal,I used CCI. Book called for Remington? I used CCI. It's worked fine for some thirty years.