Primer question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by .308 shooter, Aug 15, 2008.

1. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

As stated in previous posts, I'm a complete newbie to reloading. I'm taking everyone's advice and going extremely slow and reading the manuals first. I've read the Speers manual up to the point where it goes over the step to actually reload. I just purchased Hornady A-Max 168 grain bullets, Varget Powder, primers and the Hornady reloading manual today. I called the shop and told him what I needed and to have it ready as I needed to pick it up at lunch and did have time to doddle in the shop.

He gave me CCI Magnum primers. I trusted him to get me what I needed. However, I'm double and triple checking everything now. The hornady manual lists the Primer as Federal 210. I called the store owner and he said that Federal 210 primers were magnum primers and the CCI magnums were correct. Are they magnum primers or not? My guess is no.

Sorry for the novel. Just making sure everyone knows where I'm coming from.
  2. artabr

artabr New Member

.308, your dealer is either clueless or lying to you. Federal 210 are large rifle primers. Federal 215 are large magnum rifle primers. You may want to buy elsewheres.

Art
  3. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

I didn't think he was correct... The only problem is, that's the only local place around to buy from and he's about 40 minutes away. I've sent my gun back to Savage once because of someone's carelessness..... it's not going to happen again.

I'm glad I double checked...... I actually have about 130 Federal 210's left from last time. This just saved me $30.00.

Thanks. I'm sure I'll be writing with more questions.... probably daily as I learn.
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

308 shooter:

Why are there so many incompetent sales people in gun stores? I respect someone saying that they don't know but not someone that doesn't have a clue and sells you Magnum primers for 308!