primer question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by MichaelM, Mar 11, 2010.

1. MichaelM

MichaelM New Member

total newbie to reloading so please excuse my ignorance here.

The question i have is as follows. Im looking to reload for 9mm and 45acp. In my books it seems that every load uses a different brand primer. what difference does it make if i use a cci small pistol primer instead of a winchester, remington etc? likewise for large pistol primers. I understand why i wouldnt want to use a magnum pistol primer but when it comes to large or small pistol primers what difference does it make what brand is used?

thanks,
    Mike
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

Michaelm

I'm sure some of our seniors can answer this a bit better than I, but there are differences between primer brands, if you are a new reloader and plan on reloading some ammo to punch paper. As long as you are using the correct size you will be ok to use a cci small pistol primer in place of your data which states it used a remington small pistol for instance. Now using a magnum primer of the same size opens up a can of worms so for now try not to do it.

Also being a fairly new .45acp reloader just an fyi, if you will be reloading .45 brass from unknow sources be extra cautious to check your primer pockets, there seems to be more and more "green" ammo, in other words look for small pistol primers pockets for lead free primers, they are a bit tough to notice until you try jamming a LP primer in one and it crunches on you. Hope this helps. Good Luck!
  3. todd51

todd51 Well-Known Member

Michael, I think everyone is staying silent on this situation is because any effort to press that primer back out of the case could easily lead to detonation of the primer causing some unpleasant results. I would guess that you being a newbie is also leading to the absence of advice that has a lot of risk.