Problem with a purchased ("NIB" ???) Sig Sauer P230SL-

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by caveman60, Oct 17, 2012.

1. caveman60

caveman60 New Member

The first thing I noticed on this "NEW" gun; You could NOT remove the magazine. I removed the grips and noticed right away, what the problem was. Between the time this pistol reached the shores of the "Good old USA" and my hands, someone "not too savy with guns"- to say the least !!! removed the grips (for unknown reasons) and when they re-installed those grips, did not use the MUCH NEEDED washers. Now the screws were too long and gripped the magazine.

Now to my real problem:
    I've been working on my guns for 50+ years (cleaning and replacing parts) and never came across a problem of this nature. If anyone has, please advise:

I've found that the feed ramp on the frame does NOT meet the feed ramp on the barrel "flush". There is a slight "lip" between the two, with the barrel ramp being slightly higher. This has caused a few rounds to hang-up, just before entering the chamber. If anyone has had this problem, did you correct it yourself? (And exactly HOW did you do it ????)

Thank you for any input you can give me.
    Have a great day... T
  2. Goody

Goody Member

I would return the product for replacement or repair.
  3. Helix_FR

Helix_FR New Member

adjust the mags so the round jumps to the barrel ramp. The blend problem between the frame and barrel can only be fixed by altering one of the two voiding the warranty and sig does not see it as an issue.
  4. nmckenzie

nmckenzie Well-Known Member