Progressive rifle reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by canonmanmart, Mar 4, 2012.

1. canonmanmart

canonmanmart New Member

Though I've been reloading for 25 + years, I am new to progressive bottleneck cartridge reloading. Since you can't use a carbide resizing die and must lube the cases, Where in the process due you lube and then clean the case and still maintain the "progressive" function of the press? I am used to throwing all my lubed and resized cases in the tumbler for a cleaning before priming and charging. Obviously doing this would defeat the purpose of a progressive press. What method do you use?
  2. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

Welcome to the forum, canon.

That is a good question and the reason I don't use my Dillon on rifle cartridges. I am still in the stone age when it comes to loading rifles, I still use a single stage Lee press. There are several folks that do progressive. LDBennett comes to mind immediately, I am sure he will come along and give his insight into it, he is very knowledgeable in the hand loading arena.
  3. Kevin Rohrer

Kevin Rohrer Member

Some people (like me) re-size on a non-progressive and finish the process on the progressive. If you choose to perform the entire process on your progressive, it can be done using non-adulterating (for lack of a better word) lube:

Lube your cases externally w/ Imperial Sizing Wax and the inside of the necks w/ their Dry Neck Lube or machine mica. Run the case thru the entire loading process and clean off the Sizing Wax. The dry neck lube will not affect the primer or powder so it doesn't need to be removed prior to seating the bullet.

Why don't I do it this way? I like to run the re-sized cases thru the tumbler and have it do my cleaning for me prior to completing the reloading process.