PT1911/Taurus

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by Bill, Aug 6, 2006.

1. Bill

Bill New Member

Read lot's of Internet comments on the Taurus PT1911. Seems like there are not too many out there amoung shooters. The comments by folks that haven't seen it are typically negative relating to previous Taurus quality control . Those that have shot it or handled it seem more positive. Got mine for $529 yesterday. Put 100 rounds thu it today. I'm no expert especially on 1911's but this gun feels good in the hand and shoots sweetly. I've read that some have measured 6lbs of trigger pull. Mine is light and I think closer to 3-4 lbs. The trigger has a smooth crisp release. First impression is that this gun is a worthy entry into the pricey 1911 world.
    Bill
  2. southernshooter

southernshooter New Member

I don't have any personal exsperience with them but from what I hear the are good for the prise and a good all around piece
  3. omegapd

omegapd New Member

I read a few forums and it seems that they pretty much just hit the shelves. Only in the last 2-3 weeks have I been reading about people actually having them instead of waiting for the LGS to get one...

I've had good luck with Taurus in the past (own a 92 and a 608 eight shot .357 revolver) and they always went bang. I'm not sure if they could take a ton of abuse, but I don't want to abuse them in any case...

Please keep us informed on how it holds up. Sounds like you enjoy it.

EW
  4. Bill

Bill New Member

Second trip to the range with the PT 1911. My favorite paper puncher is my S/W .38 special with 8 3/8 barrel. I always shoot it best. Today however I did better with the PT 1911. Nice tight groupings, no failures of any kind. I'm starting to really like this gun.
    Bill
  5. eabraden

eabraden New Member