Question about light shotgun loads

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by RickYoung, Jun 1, 2009.

1. RickYoung

RickYoung New Member

Hello,
    I'm a newbie to shotgun shooting. I won a Stoeger Classic single-shot 12G shotgun. I thought I was just supporting the local highschool shooting club, who knew I'd be lucky too??

Anyway, I want to introduce my wife to shotgun shooting and I need some advice about shotgun loads.

The shotgun is chambered for 3" shells. Any recommendations for light/target loads to start out with?
  2. Terry_P

Terry_P New Member

My first suggestion is that you buy a shotshell reloading manual like a Lyman as they also have the process and safety considerations in addition to loads.

I shoot Win 2 3/4" AA's Hulls, Win 209 primer, with 17 gr of Alliant Clay Dot Powder, a WAA12 wad and 1 1/8 Oz of shot. That is my standard skeet load. That load is available on the Alliant web site but I really think a manual is the beginning point. You can reduce recoil by using less lead but that will require a whole new set of components. What do you have for a loader?

If you are looking for just ammo to shoot then look for something that is rated 2 3/4 dram or if you can find it less.
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

factory ammo: remington sts target (gold hulls), also winchester AA reduced recoil (handicap printed on the box)... if you hand load: pretty much any light target data using 1 oz of shot in the 12 ga 2 3/4" data section. My wife is 5' 1" and while she does not preferr the 12 ga due to its weight (she shoots a rem. 870 youth 20 ga.) she can manage quite well 1 oz. target loads in the 12 ga.
  4. RickYoung

RickYoung New Member

Thanks for the info. I've done a lot of reloading for my pistols. Hadn't thought about loading shotgun shells.
  5. armedandsafe

armedandsafe Guest