The Firearms Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Question about Red Dot powder

3K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  Firpo 
#1 ·
I have a couple pounds of Red Dot, purchased from a friend. He poured it from a 12 pound can of Red Dot Shotgun powder. Can this also be pistol powder? My Lyman Third Edition Pistol and Revolver Handbook lists various loads using Red Dot, just want to ensure it is the same Red Dot powder. Can says Shotgun powder, maybe it is similar to Unique, can be used in either pistol or Shotgun...Am I right?

#5 ·
Glad I was able to get the two pounds. I share load with son and son-in-law, they both shoot 9's, I stick with my .45's. I have been using W231, Titegroup, PowerPistol, Unique and Bullseye.

While I have been reloading for several years, I didn't know about the versatility of some shotgun powders. Nice to have a backup source.

#8 ·
I have another question about Red Dot powder. I think I may have posted it elsewhere, but I can't find it now, so I'll add to this post.

A friend wants to reload .223 Remington, and has a bunch of brass and powder he bought for that purpose. Unfortunately, he bought Red Dot, not knowing any better. He's got 8 lbs of the stuff!

I've searched the web and found a load for this caliber with a 55 gr bullet using Red Dot, amounting to 6 gr or so of powder. But it makes me very nervous to proceed with this. That's too small a charge to fill the cartridge, and it's not going to ignite evenly. It very likely will also produce a huge overpressure spike, since it's fairly quick burning. No reputable publisher lists this powder for this caliber, either.