Question on 9mm load

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by RodneyJ, Apr 24, 2009.

1. RodneyJ

RodneyJ New Member

I have been reloading for a couple years but this is my first go at pistol ammo. the problem I'm having is it looks like the bullet is expanding the cases. On every bullet that i have seated you can see a ring on the case were the base of the bullet has stopped. I am using .355 dia 125gr Sierra JHP bullets. I had the seating die set so that it would not apply a crimp. not sure were I'm going worng thank for any help are advise yall can give. sorry I can not add a picture as my camera has died.

RodneyJ
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2009
  2. gunmanguns

gunmanguns New Member

thats whats happening to me too you just explained it better
  3. muddober

muddober Active Member

No biggie at all. What is happening is that the sizer die sometimes takes the case slightly under size and then your new bullet is bringing it back only to the depth it is inserted into the case. I would guess that if you measured the difference it would only be a couple of thousands if that. It is amazing what little or slight measurement you can see with your eye when circumstances like the mirror or shine of the case is just right to reveal it.

Ron
  4. RodneyJ

RodneyJ New Member

Muddober
    You are correct there is only a couple of thousands differance it just did not look wright to me. so thought I should check with people that have more knowledge on this than I do. I have cycled the rounds through my pistol and they seem to be fine hope to get to the range and check them out next week.

Thanks
    RodneyJ
  5. cycloneman

cycloneman Well-Known Member

6. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

RodneyJ: