Question on lead bullets

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by 03fxsti, Jan 14, 2011.

1. 03fxsti

03fxsti New Member

I have a quantity of 230 grn lrn bullets for .45 acp. These were at my dads place, he can no longer reload due to failing health. I don't know how long these bullets sat in his reloading shed, but it was a long time. They are generally coated with dust, and dirt, and the lube is cruddy and in some cases has fallen out of the groove. My question is, is there a way to rehab these suckers and load them? I'm new to loading lead, in fact I've never loaded for my .45, dad always did it. As far as the dirt, I would think I could just wash the dang things, heck a trip through the dishwasher probably wouldn't hurt them. How do I get them lubed again? I've looked at buying a lubrisizer, but I'd be north of 100 bucks, plus I'll only ever do this once, as I'll take better care of my bullets. I plan to continue to load cast in the future but I'll buy them lubed. Any help would be appreciated.
  2. noylj

noylj Member

How many are there? Usually, you would just melt them down and re-cast. Or, you can look for a bullet caster in your area.
    If you just want to shoot them and be done with it, you could dunk them in a can of carburetor cleaner (binary solution) to clean them. You can tumble lube them in Lee Liquid Alox and be done with them. I don't think I would put them in my dishwasher.
    Heck, you could just agitate them in hot soapy water.
  3. bayhawk2

bayhawk2 New Member

Welcome 03fxsti-One thing I'd do is caliberate them.Just to make sure they are
    what they say.I'm sure you'll get a lot more experienced replies than mine,
    but I understand lead alloy gets harder with time.Usually that is a good thing.
    The hardness comes into play when you speak of higher "velocity"loads.
    I'm new to casting bullets and can only speak of what little I know.