Question: Russian Firearms

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by Guest, Mar 4, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

OneSilkyCat
    (4/26/02 6:16:14 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Question: Russian Firearms
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hello all.

This might come off a little strange, but I'm a college student who's currently writing a screenplay for a class. It mostly has to do with stuff that doesn't rely on a heavy knowledge of firearms, but there is a SPETZNAZ fella in it, and I was wondering if any of you aficionados or history buffs out there could drop me some names of mean-lookin' Russian firearms that a guy in that kind of outfit would use.

I know so far that the normal SPETZNAZ troops carry a 5.45mm AKS-74 rifle, a 5.45mm PRI automatic pistol and an NR-2 Combat knife/gun thing.

But I was also curious as to what kind of hardware the more specialized groups would use (Vympel, Al'fa, Omon, GROM, etc.)

In particular, I was wondering if you guys knew any nasty full-auto machine pistols from Russia.

Thanks a bunch.

-Alex

polishshooter
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (4/27/02 4:22:44 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Question: Russian Firearms
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Not strange at all, this is one of the things I envisioned when we created this forum! In fact, I recently gave a little help to a prop manager on a movie set about US and German soldiers in WWII... Welcome!

I am NOT an "expert" on modern stuff as much as WWII and earlier, partly because it interests me a little less...but I have a few suggestions...But you have them pretty well nailed right now, good research!

I would probably try to do a Google search at the bottom of the page right off the bat...but look for sources more than the exact info at first, then drill down...