Question

Discussion in 'Large-Bore/Small-Bore Rifle/Shotgun' started by Trevor1837, Apr 1, 2012.

1. Trevor1837

Trevor1837 New Member

For those of you that dont know, I'm a noob when it comes to center fire rifles. ( I am mostly a waterfowl hunter, but have outings for rabbits and squirrels 7 or 8 times a year.) I haven't shot many and I've never owned one. I recently got invited into a friends deer hunting camp and am looking for a rifle. But my first question is caliber. I want to be able hunt whitetails and elk. As with every question I have that is firearms related I figured Id come here.

Recoil is not a major factor for me (I'm a big guy and can handle it)

I'd like it to be an accurate round (duh)

I want to be able to put an elk on the ground, and not tear up whitetail.

So if these are my requirements, what is the best caliber for me?

-Trevor
  2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    30-06 is what comes to my mind. You can shoot bullets from 55gr, all the way up to 220 gr for bear.
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2012
  3. norahc

norahc Active Member

An hour's drive from the nearest McDonald's
    7mm is another good choice.
  4. Trevor1837

Trevor1837 New Member

Mag or -08?
  5. norahc

norahc Active Member

An hour's drive from the nearest McDonald's
    My choice would be the mag...you can use heavier bullets at farther ranges with a flatter trajectory. This would assist with putting an elk on the ground as described in the OP.
  6. CHW2021

CHW2021 Member

In my opinion, you would probably do well with a .308 or 30-06. My reasoning is that these are 2 of the most popular calibers and have a wide range of loaded ammo available. With either caliber you can go from a light/reduced recoil load up to a "premium" load with almost any bullet type that would be available for any application.