The Firearms Forum banner

Range Report/Rifle Review Remington Model 770 .308

8K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  slayer 
#1 ·
I hope this is a good place for this, new to the forum. The below reflects my personal experience, but it was significant enough that I thought it to be worthy of publishing so that you all could enjoy the read:

Review:
This may be somewhat long, but I need to provide as much insight and clarification as possible so that you do not think I am just a disgruntled customer.
I work for an engineering services company in the defense industry, and while I am not an engineer or technician, I do understand basic design and function concepts, and, I have been an avid shooter and hunter since I was 12 years old, about 4 decades ago. I fancy myself as an armchair gun repair person for minor repairs. I am not skilled enough to do more detailed and intricate operations that a good gunsmith would be able to do, like chambering, barrel making, stock making, etc…but I have seen it done and understand the concepts. With that background, I will tell you what happened this past weekend.
I have never owned a .308 bolt gun before, but I have owned several bolt guns in 30.06, one of which was a Rem. Model 700 BDL (great gun, I did trade it for a Garand 20 years ago though). I purchased my Model 770 December 30, 2013, but I did not get to take it out until February 1 (Saturday), and I was excited to finally get to shoot it. My plan was to give it to my son as his first bolt gun this year for his birthday. I knew it was an entry level gun at an entry level price point and would not demonstrate the mechanical precision, fit, smoothness and visual appeal that the higher end guns do, but that was Ok.
After home inspection I found that the chamber and bolt lug area on the barrel had very small metal shavings and such in there, I had not seen that before.