Range Report: Taurus 24/7 PRO Compact in .45 (NIB)

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by jimmrik, Feb 26, 2010.

1. jimmrik

jimmrik New Member

Greetings,

I am new to the forum, former Marine and proud citizen of the Commonwealth of Virginia. I have been shooting for over 20 years with pistols (big 1911 fan), revolvers, and shotguns.

I was in the market about a month ago for a new concealed carry pistol chambered in 45. Over the course of about 2 weeks I put my hands on every concealable 45 I could to determine what would best suit my needs. At the beginning of my search I had absolutely no intention of looking at a Taurus. What I found after my search, however, is the Taurus 24/7 PRO Compact was the gun that met all my requirements.

This is the gun I purchased and working with in hopes of it becoming my new carry weapon. If it does, it will retire a Kimber 1911 that has simply become too bulky for me to carry in a concealable fashion.

[​IMG]
    Taurus PT 24/7 PRO C DS in .45

Purchase Decision

I decided on this gun because 1) it is in .45, 2) it is light enough for me, 3) it has a concealable profile, 4) it feels like it was made for my hand, and 5) the look doesn't bother me - after all, I'll be looking at it every day for a few years if it proves to be a reliable weapon.

I hesitated before buying this gun. I had heard some bad feedback over the years at the range and on forums. Doing some research right before making the purchase helped me decide to move forward. Not all the reviews are bad. There are some good ones out there. The warranty offered by Taurus also helped.

Just Out of the Box

There is a useful manual that comes with the gun. I do not intend to write a full review here, so I will only say it provided the needed information. It gave clear instruction on how to break down the weapon and reassemble.

Breaking down the weapon was quite easy. Putting it back together after cleaning was just as easy. All is good.