RCBS .40S&W carbide seater die trouble

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by bmg50doorgunner, Jan 24, 2010.

1. bmg50doorgunner

bmg50doorgunner New Member

Background:
    When I seat my bullets I get a “ring” or an impression around the nose of the bullet. The bullet seats to accurate depths and with very little effort exerted on the handle of my press. I am using a Rock Chucker single-stage with RCBS .40S&W carbide die set. Per the RCBS die instructions I am not crimping. My seating depth is 1.120” with a tolerance of +/- 0.0005” … darn-near perfect. I’m new to reloading, but let me say that I have thoroughly read the Speer and Hornady reloading manuals (cover-to-cover) as well as the die set instructions. The RCBS website features this very problem in its FAQ section and recommends that the user purchase a custom-order die from its Special Order Catalog and send in your bullet to RCBS for a match.

http://www.rcbs.com/questions/dies_questions.aspx

Specs:
    Bullet: Speer 165 gr. TMJ FN (This is a FMJ flat-nosed projectile)
    Brass: Win, Federal, PMC, Blazer, etc.
    Primer: Irrelevant
    Powder: Irrelevant

Questions:
    Do you think it’s likely that such a common die (RCBS .40S&W carbide) would have problems with such a common bullet? It’s not like I’m trying to reload a custom-cast lead projectile. Is it common for seater dies to leave impressions on bullets? I’ve also tried loading 165 gr. frangibles, which have a more rounded nose, but get similar impressions left by the “cup” of the seater plug. Is there a better die out there? I’m about to give up on this RCBS seater die and try a Lee substitute. I don’t see how I could be adjusting the seater die incorrectly if I’m getting such precise seating depths. Again, I am not crimping. Any other ideas???

Thanks for looking,
    DF
  2. muddober

muddober Active Member