The Firearms Forum banner

Re Lever Rifle for comp shooting

3K views 19 replies 8 participants last post by  Alpo 
#1 ·
I'm looking at purchasing a Winchester lever action rifle with the possibility of getting into competition shooting (cowboy style). I would like to hear pros/cons of various models and calibers. Thank you in advance!

#2 ·
Is there a particular reason you want to limit your choice to a Winchester? Others make lever guns, too. I have my Dad's Model 94 .30-30, and it's a beautiful piece of precision machinery that I'd highly recommend to anyone. But I also have a Browning BLR in .243 Win, and it's a much better design, and inherently more accurate. I believe that Marlin, and I know that Henry both make lever guns, too, but I have no personal experience with either and couldn't offer a qualified opinion on them. Others will be along shortly to inform you that I'm an idiot, of course. But I wish you well in your search, as I happen to love lever guns for their reliability and ease of operation.:D

#3 ·
First, do you want a real "Winchester" brand, or a gun that looks like a Winchester. Uberti (1860, 1866, 1873) and Rossi (1892) and Chiappa (1892) all make copies of Winchesters.

Caliber. For cost and speed, you want to get either a 38 or a 357 and shoot 38s in it. To my mind, the 1892 is the best design, but the really fast guys seem to all be using 1873s. I shoot 44/40s, but I'm peculiar. :) Lots of folks seem to like 45 Colt, but I'm not real happy with that in a rifle. Not very much rim for an extractor to grab.

If you are going for "real" Winchester, your choices are (unless you are going for antique) the 94, made in the states, the 92 made in Japan, or the new 73 made in the Japan.

I would stay away from the 94. It was made for "rifle-length" cartridges,