(really) NEW TO FIREARMS!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by little.e, Feb 25, 2009.

1. little.e

little.e New Member

Hello everyone!

I just joined this forum in hopes to start something up with firearms. I have always been very intrigued with firearms and finally decided I want to be involved. Now, I have no idea where to start or begin with the process so if you guys would kindly help me out.

For example, do I research for a shooting range within my area and ask about lessons? Should I take some classes? (is there any classes for that?)

I know these are very 'stupid' questions but I really want to get into it and know no one I can inquire. Obviously, I'm really new to this so it would help to get a pretty detailed information to start up. I currently reside in San Diego, CA. I'm interested in all sorts of firearms: shotguns, handguns, semi-auto rifles, rifles in general. I would love to learn the usage and maintenance. Practically everything. I don't mean to use it as a general defense, more like a hobby, therefore, I'm not really interested in the joining the military.

I have not exactly been reading up on guns. The most knowledge I have about guns are from Counter-Strike (the game) and many other co-op games which I know doesn't give you much info given it is a game, compared to in real life situation everything is a lot more complicated.

I would greatly appreciate your time and advice.

Thank you!

-E :D
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  2. pinecone70

pinecone70 Active Member

Welcome, you found an excellent forum.

If there is a range nearby that rents guns, you could try a variety of different ones that way. Guns make a good hobby!
  3. Marlin T

Marlin T Active Member

Stupid questions? Naaa, there is no such thing.

Welcome aboard.
  4. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

If you are interested in rifle shooting, buy a .22 rifle and practice at the range. Most .22 rifles are reasonably priced, and the ammo is cheap.