Recommendations Please

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting Forum' started by Psycho-82, Aug 21, 2008.

1. Psycho-82

Psycho-82 New Member

Hello, im looking at getting a rifle with the ability to accurately hit to 1000y or close to it. Im in the U.S. Army and have been for over 7 years but have only got to play with the M16 and other normal toys (M2, MK-19, etc), but nothing for precision long range. Im currently on my third tour to the sanbox and am looking at having everything ready for me when i get back from this 15mo tour in May 09. Im looking at mating this with a Leupold Mark 4 scope. I am aiming more for the 6.5-20X50mm ER/T M1 FFP with TMR reticle as that is what was recommended by the tech that ive been talking to regarding the type of shooting. Im looking for a full weapon system price of preferably no more then $5,000.00, with the scope going to take approx 12-1400.00. Im an expert shot (according to army standards) when it comes to iron sights but want to explore into long range precision shooting with optics. Ive been looking heavily into the Springfield M1A, but seeing as their site isnt the most descriptive as to what comes with each rifle its a bit hard to judge based on the prices ranging from about 1500.00 (standard) - 5300.00 (M25). I know they vary greatly on quality but that is a HUGE gap. Anyways The ammo i want to stick with is .308 Winchester (7.62x51mm NATO). The rounds i was planning on using for this is the Black Hills 168 grain Match Hallow Point and most likely the 175 grain version as well (yes i know the ballistics are slightly different). The idea is to be accurate at about 600y then go for the longer range shots with the rounds that are noticeably different for that range shooting. Okay now that ive laid everything out that i can think what are your suggestions to possibly different weapons with the same cartridge. Oh yeah the reason i was thinking of the M1A is because of the detachable magazine and the reliability and reputation