reloading dies

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by .308 shooter, Aug 16, 2008.

1. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

Okay..... here's the next question of the day. I just bought Hornady the Hornady .308 dies. I went looking for the RCBS competition dies with the micrometer adjustments.

My question..... Being a complete newbie, should I spend the extra money for the competition dies as ultimate accuracy is my goal, or will the standard dies work. I can take the Hornady dies back as I've not opened them yet.

What's your opinion..... worth the extra money or not?
  2. jinn

jinn New Member

Personally, no. If you are truly a newbie, I suspect you are being misled by someone who sells stuff. Pay close attention to your headspace, first, and accuracy will follow. .308 is inherently a pretty accurate caliber. If you start with used brass, especially GI-fired in full-auto weapons, well........
  3. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

Thanks...... Do you know anything about the Hornaday dies? Should I consider the standard RCBS over the Hornady?
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

308shooter:

I have dies from all the manufacturers you can think of and have only had problems with Lee dies (the only set of dies out of 30+ die sets from various manufactures to rust????).