reloading info

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by old semperfi, Nov 7, 2011.

1. old semperfi

old semperfi New Member

i live in southern indiana,old country boy at hear
    guys and girls please read and understand what im about to tell you.i reload and from time to time go to the reloading forum,i have been reloading for about 35 years or so and just maybe i can keep you and yours from being hurt.i see a number of people asking for info on different loads as far as bullit weight,and charge amounts for powder................never,never load a charge from info from someone else.if you cant verify it in writing do not do it..............the life you save ,may be your own.nuff said old semperfi
  2. Rhuga

Rhuga New Member

I am in total awe of all you folks that can re-load. I am sure that it is a science and requires a lot of commitment. When I go to the range I see all that brass. I hope it doesn't go to waste.
  3. todd51

todd51 Well-Known Member

Rhuga, reloading in not difficult but does require care and precision. I have found it an interesting and enjoyable addition to the shooting hobby. As Old Semperfi is advising use only the published data when reloading. Pick up one of the reloading manuals such as Hornady, Speer, Lymand or Lee and read through it. You find that anyone can become a safe reloader. Like Old Semperfi I have been doing it for over 30 years.
  4. Regular Joe

Regular Joe New Member

I've been at for even longer, but I've just started reloading for a new AR-15. Sorting thru my range brass, I see a LOT of cases that have pierced primers. This means that someone loaded them to pressure that was far beyond safe. Others are much too hard to resize, because the cases have been "blown out" in a stretched chamber. This stuff leads to blown up rifles, which are well known for causing serious injury and death.