reloading question. whats causing this bulge in brass?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by TwinGlock40z, Mar 10, 2009.

1. TwinGlock40z

TwinGlock40z New Member

ok this is my first attempt at reloading. ive read several manuals and i thought i had everything down. after trying to make a couple rounds without primers and without powder... just so i could get the bullet seated to the specs i wanted. this happens after i seat the bullet. whats causing this? and how do i fix it?

i'm using a lee 308 die set with a full length sizing die. the brass looks normal after depriming and resizing. but then after seating the bullet, a bulge is present on the neck as seen in the pic.

any and i mean any help would be greatly appreciated. thanx guys, mike

[​IMG]
  2. pwelsh4hd

pwelsh4hd New Member

Nice bulge you have there! ;)
    That is typically a combination of bullet seating / crimping.
    1) The case mouth is probably grabbing a firm hold of the "ring" and further downward and crimp pressure is collapsing and bulging the case. Try backing off on your crimp die just a little bit.
    2) May sound stupid, but are you sure you have the correct bullet diameter for the case you are loading?
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2009
  3. TwinGlock40z

TwinGlock40z New Member

didnt make it to crimping. thats what it looks like after i seat the bullet. the bullet is seated to spec. should i still back off a good bit?
  4. 308 at my gate

308 at my gate New Member

Try running the brass up into the die without the bullet and see if it still is causing the bulge. That could help to narrow it down. If it is not crimping you should not affect the brass at all.
  5. cycloneman

cycloneman Well-Known Member

DUUUUDDDDDDEEEEEEE.

Go back to your instructions for setting the dies. I believe you have your die in toooooooo far. I would also suspect that you probably made the same mistake in your sizing die. Follow instructions to the tee. take your time. :D:D:D:D:D