reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by 31bravo, May 18, 2009.

1. 31bravo

31bravo New Member

I'm looking into doing some reloading on a few guns I have a para-ordnance 1911 double stack and a Kimber 8400 tactical (308).

well I've never done any reloading before and was wanting to get into it. I guess I'm looking for advice and some recommended parts. I don't have much money to spend but still want quality tools.

I'm looking to do hollow point for my 1911 and something more for long range with my Kimber say 600+ yards. I use my pistol 10x more then my rifle so thats mostly what Im looking for. i currently only use Remington UMC for range ammo and speer gold dot for daily carry.

Kimber:
    [​IMG]
    Para:
    [​IMG]
    Me:
    [​IMG]

oh and hello
    Last edited: May 18, 2009
  2. bntyhntr6975

bntyhntr6975 Member

Congrats on the decision to start reloading. Unfortunately, components can be kinda hard to find at times now. Anyway, in my opinion, both RCBS and Lyman have good quality kits available. Normally, everything is included but the components. I have use a Lyman T-mag 2 kit for several years and have been happy with it. For a lot less, you can go with Lee. Some people have good luck with them, some don't. But, they are cheaper. Theres lots of good loads out there, but you will definetly want to find out what that rifle preferrs. Try out a box of Federal Gold Medal Match (168g) and see how well it shoots. If it likes it, I can give you the recipe. It seems to do pretty well in most rifles. For the .45, a lot of loads work well. Only load for plinking/target/general use, NOT SD loads for carry. Use only premium factory loads for that. (Ask an attorney if you want.) Do as much research on the topics as you can, it will help make informed decisions. Good luck.
  3. 31bravo

31bravo New Member

currently using black hills 168gr hollow tip boat tails in the 308 They shoot great.