Reloading.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by proeliator, Oct 5, 2009.

1. proeliator

proeliator New Member

I am brand new to you guys joined to learn more about reloading in the past year this has been more and more attractive.
    I am looking for a brand / model that will last longer then I will be good for my primary a remington 700 r5 mill spec and good for a 9mm pistol.

I want one that is much more machine then I need at the moment but will be good for me as I grow into more and more reloading. Not wanting the normal starting kit am thinking of something as fool proof as possible.
    I know there are alot of posts on this subject but am starting a new post to see if any of the newer gear is worth looking at.
    Thanks guys.
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

Your scenario is exactly my two primary loads .308 tactical rifle and 9mm for a glock and XD. My thoughts are that with pistol shooting a progressive press would suit the large quanities of pistol ammo with less effort, but for a precision round for your tactical rifle you would want to load these cartriges on a single stage for the "perfection" aspect. My answer is to go the inbetween route and use the semi-progressive turret press. I have loaded sub-moa rounds for my Remington 700 on the other hand -crank out 200 rounds per hour of 9mm without having to move more than 1 die or even a turret head. Also the Lyman turret is built tough as nails and kept my initial cost to the lower end ($600-700) by the time my first round was fired. shop around I still have not found a better quality vs price than this deal here at Bass Pro Shop.................http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_-1_10001_10200317____SearchResults
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2009
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member