Reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by gipat18, Dec 26, 2011.

1. gipat18

gipat18 New Member

Im very new to reloading, and will be reloading .308 and 30.06 to start. I was wondering if anyone had any advice as to which powders, primers and casings I should use. I have a few manuals but they just seem push their own products. I will be using Nosler ammo but am open to suggestions on everything else. Any advice would be welcome......

Thanks....
  2. Archie

Archie Member

First: Read the beginning parts of the reloading manuals, not the loading tables. Read all about cases, bullets, primers and powders. That background will serve you well in all other matters of firearms.

Next: Except for specific 'lemons', one brand of bullets, cases, primers or powder is about as good as any other. (Once fired 'AMERC' brand cases are an exception; they are universally avoided; steel or aluminum cases are not suitable for reloading, either.) But all the major brands are pretty decent as a rule. Norma cases are noted as being excellent quality. They charge for the quality. Some people will tell horror stories of brand X, while extolling the virtues of brand Y. Which may or may NOT mean diddly squat in your circumstance.

You will probably be guided by what is available and what you can afford more than specific brand choice.

Also, you will have to determine the purpose for your reloading. If you are loading only 'practice' ammo and will carry 'factory' ammo for serious purposes, then you can buy components of lesser price to duplicate the round for ballistics and gun function purposes.

For instance, one may substitute cast lead bullets for expensive jacketed hollow point ammo for handgun practice.