Reloads gonna go BOOM ?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Sparky72, Jun 17, 2012.

1. Sparky72

Sparky72 New Member

Hey guys..new to this column, but I've been reloading pistol and rifle ammo for a few years now..My question to you experts is this: For my M&P45, I usually load 185grn HP's ( usually XTP-HP's or Gold Dots ) with Universal Clays powder & various cases/primers.. A while back, I got a deal on some 230grn Gold Dots, which I never loaded..I decided to try Titegroup powder. I used brand new Double Tap brand nickel cases ( very good quality by the way, was my 1st time using them), and CCI 350 primers..Heres the problem: Somehow I misread the data, and used the ".43" cavity on a Lee auto disc, which is about 5.1 grains, when I should have used the ".40" cavity, which is about 4.7 grains..AND a light crimp.. Hodgden data says to use 4.8 grns MAX for a 230 grain bullet..I realize they are erring on the side of caution, but is this too hot a charge?..OAL is about 1.235, give or take a hundreth..I AM using a excellent cond. M &P 45, and HAVE shot plenty of plus-P ammo through it.. Thing is, I made 100 of these babys, all nice and shiny (lol), and all I have is a gravity ( hammer) style bullet puller...I'd really HATE to have to sit there for hours whacking away to unload them and start over..lol..BUT, if these rounds will blow my gun apart and my face with it, I will..I realize this is just advice, not gonna hold anyone ethically liable..lol..Just wondering what the general consensus would be..THANKS guys..
  2. ozo

ozo Active Member

Welcome Sparky........to my fave zoo......:rolleyes:
    I too hate to kinetically 'pull' bullets....
    I will NOT tell you to shoot them......or not to.....
    I will tell you my solution when something like this haphazardly occurs......
    I have Ruger Blackhawks and Thompson Contender barrels for my 'CAT'
    and trust that a heavy charge will still be 'fireable' in these tried and true arms.