Remington 591M Problem

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by ScottNky, Sep 20, 2009.

1. ScottNky

ScottNky New Member

This is my first time posting, and I hope someone out there can help me out.

I was recently given a Remington 591M 5mm, and I think it needs to be repaired. But before I take it into a gunsmith, I thought I might solicit opinions here to see if it might be an easy fix that I can do myself. It seems to have a problem with the trigger mechanism. The trigger almost feels as if it's locked up. When I first got it, the safety lever wouldn't move in either direction, nor could I get it dry fire. So I removed the stock and did what I thought was a really thorough cleaning of the trigger mechanism and put some oil in places where I thought oil should be put. It's a pretty old gun....I was but a wee lad when it was purchased, and now I have more forehead than hair. What I'm saying is that it was pretty gunked up in there, so I thought that might be the problem. After I put it back together, it worked.....sort of. The safety lever now works, and I can get the gun to fire, but it doesn't feel right. There is almost zero mechanical movement of the trigger when it releases the firing pin, although it does take a fair amount of pull to get it to fire. And, occasionally, the safety lever seems to bind up a little. On top of that, it (very occasionally) fires (er, dry-fires, that is) as soon as I close the bolt, with my finger nowhere near the trigger. Obviously, that's no good.

Now, I did a lot of shooting with my dad when I was a kid, but he always did all of the cleaning and repairing, so I'm a relative newby when it comes to gun maintenance and repair. So I'm looking for ideas. If the best thing to do is to take it to a gunsmith, so be it. That's what I'll do. The rifle has a lot of sentimental value to me, and I want to get it in proper working order.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
  2. gdmoody