Replacing Rear Slider Window In Truck

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zhurh, Jul 26, 2011.

1. Zhurh

Zhurh Active Member

My son was loading up the crew cab with logs, broke rear slider window, (one of the 2 pieces). So, I had a buddy pick up entire rear window at junk yard and I hear it's easier to replace single slider piece than entire rear window & seal. Believe it or not, something I've never done before, so I figured you all have been there and done that; any advice on best way to not break glass and get it in? Got to get it done before caribou starts on the 10th.

So how do you do it? Thanks in advance.
  2. Juker

Juker New Member

I replaced one on a Dodge Dakota in 1987, first year they were made. That particular model was no more difficult than lifting up on the sliding panel, and pulling the bottom inward on the cab side - no more difficult than removing a screen door. It also made me realize how easy it would be for someone to break in that way, so I haven't had a slider since! :)
  3. Zhurh

Zhurh Active Member

This truck is a 97 ford 1 ton pwr stroke, kind of wood truck ya keep around. I'm going to take a look, but don' t think it will come out that easy, thanks. Hope I'm wrong, ha. Get some soapy water I guess and have at it.
  4. Juker

Juker New Member

Good luck - keep us posted!
  5. reflex1

reflex1 Active Member

Wrap a small cord (less than 1/4 inch) (overlapped like first thing when tying yer shoe) around the track of the window, have someone hold the window against the window hole, pull the cord from the opposite side - might add a small amount of oil/soap - wahlah - it be done - easy - even for an OF like me!
  6. Bobitis

Bobitis Guest

I had a Chevy that had the solid window and wanted a slider. With the help of my then bil, we replaced it and it was fairly easy.

As I recall, the actual slider portion was not replaceable. It musta been molded in the framework? It wasn't at all like a home window.
  7. Zhurh