The Firearms Forum banner

Replacing Recoil Springs

5K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  Shooter45 
#1 ·
I have only one 45 a Sig Revolution I bought from my Brother In-law. I know before me he shot this gun often. Since I got it I have probably shot 2500 rounds through this gun. I have never noticed any difference in the way the gun operates. It functions flawlessly every time out.

My question is, Whats the deal with replacing the recoil spring? Is there a difference in the way it operates that I am not noticing? And what is the reason for replacing this spring? I know they are very inexpensive, But why fix it if it isn't broken. Just asking, JUNK

#3 ·
I'm no spring expert, but my take on it is. If you use a light spring with heavy
loads you will batter your gun excessively. If you use a heavy spring with
light loads the slide won't always go all the way back. How many lb. springs
with what load. Pfm! pure freaking magic.

Zeke

#6 ·
I've really never given a thought to replacing springs. My 1911 is a United States Property made in 1918. It has had all kinds of ammo thru it, factory hard ball and my own reduced handloads. It fires everything I put in it. I bought it from a WW2 vet several years ago and it came with a 1918 clip in the well. Could this be the original spring? The only time I experienced extraction problems was when I experimented with soft loads for the purpose of reducing hammer bite, and some of the loads smokestacked. I increased the load a half grain and no problems since. These old guns are great.

#7 ·