Research question for a novel

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by Brad63, Jan 20, 2010.

1. Brad63

Brad63 New Member

Greetings,

I'm working on a fantasy novel set on a parallel Earth with an early 1900's level of technology and military elements and I need to know if an assumption I have made seems completely realistic, sort of realistic or just plain silly. Please bear in my mind, I have no experience with guns.

Picture a group of soldiers (the good guys) walking across open ground in a loose formation towards a concealed enemy squad consisting of competent marksmen using open sight rifles.

If the good guys' uniform includes a belt halfway up the torso, either because the pants are really high or they wear tunics or jackets with belts, would the belt give an enemy marksman something to aim at? I'm thinking black belts and boots with khaki uniforms.

My assumption is that such a uniform might dramatically increase the likelihood of gut wounds.
  2. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

POA ( point of aim) and POI (point of impact) are seperate items

with 1900's technology and the drop on the .303 of the day martini rifle say,

and the range was 200 meters, POI would be 7" lower than POA if the sites where perfectly paralell with the barrel, , but they are not, so assuming this parrelell world had the same understanding we would have

then the adjusted sight should theoretically put the POI at the same point as POA sights where adjustable then, some out to 2000 yards for vollet fire

( everyone in the group setting site at 2000 yards and firing at once )

and if you read history of that period its rather effective, especially if you have a hundred folks volley firing , say, a shot every 4-5 seconds..

a 1901 shooting match here in Australia showed that a bullseye was a bullseye same as today and they hit what they aimed at