revolver, ss

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by drunkdude69, Jan 31, 2006.

1. drunkdude69

drunkdude69 New Member

I'm new to the revolver arena. I just bought and love my new Ruger GP100 6" barrel stainless, but it I am a total newb when it comes to cleaning this type of gun. I am used to rifles and autoloaders (Glock pistol), none of which are stainless. I noticed there are stains on stainless rev0olvers that are hard to get out, and that pisses me off. Any help in this regard is well appreciated, because I would hate to be the dirt bag who changes a good weapon into an unreliable one.
  2. Tracker

Tracker New Member

I've used " Gunbrite " . Seems to work well.
  3. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

drunkdude69:

I have had SS revolversfor years including the GP100 you have. I clean the gun with standard Hoppe's but the window (the frame area around the cylinder normally hiden from view) gets scrubing from a fine stainless bush to remove the staining there. The muzzle end of the cylinder get the stainless brushing treatment as well. The staining also occurs on the side of the cylinder. Don't use the stainless brush here or on any surface that you can see as it may scratch it. I use the lead remover cloth that is normally use in the bore to remove leading. Just use it lightly because it can scratch if used too aggressively.This cloth can be used in the other areas as well.

The trick is to get the staining off with every cleaning so that it doesn't build up. I have done my gun this way for 20 years with no ill effects and the guns are always clean and stain free.

LDBennett