Ricochet

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by Guest, Feb 23, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Bryant
    (12/21/02 4:35:17 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Ricochet
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hello all,

I'm new to guns. I'm totally green.

I was wondering if the steel shot inside birshot or buckshot tends to ricochet after striking things harder than oak wood. My concern applies to home defense, in that, if I fired at an intruder and missed, could not the shot ricochet off of hard wood or metal and come right back at me?

Thanks for your response....

warpig883
    *TFF Staff*
    (12/21/02 4:52:43 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del
    ezSupporter
    Re: Ricochet
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Yes shot can richochet. Steel shot is worse than lead shot. I would not worry about it indoors to much unless you have metal walls, just hit the bad guy, I don't think it will bounce of him

Welcome to TFF
    In 49 states ignorance is a crime.In the other one it is bliss. Edited by: warpig883 at: 12/21/02 4:55:16 pm

LIKTOSHOOT
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (12/23/02 10:30:08 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Ricochet
    First thing, do not use buckshot. Lead birdshot is the best-#8,#7-1/2`s. At indoor ranges, you will receive the maximum energy transfer for these types of loads. I love buckshot, don`t get me wrong, but the energy transfer is much-much less.

Now, as far as ricochet`s go.....yes, it can happen-but bird shot will have lost most of it`s energy and I doubt it would even sting, provided your not neckid (hehe). You still have to aim.....this is the most important thing, because at indoor ranges, even with a open or improved cylinder....the pattern is going to be very small. Remember "center mass."

LTS

IShootBack
    (1/5/03 6:56:27 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Ricochet