Rock Island Armory

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by ysacres, Mar 8, 2003.

1. ysacres

ysacres Well-Known Member

Roger1113
    (1/6/03 2:03:49 pm)
    Reply Rock Island Armory
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ok, I now have the 1911 bug!

I have made my mind up to start collecting 1911's and copies, so could anyone tell me about Rock Island Armory pistols, i have seen one on Gunbroker and it looks like a nice pistol, but i have no knowledge of them.

Any info guys and gals?

Roger

shooter45 us
    *TFF Chief Of Staff*
    (1/6/03 5:56:24 pm)
    Reply Re: Rock Island Armory
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have shot one of these pistols and IMHO, you can do better for about the same money. They can be made to shoot well with some work. Unless you can tweek a 1911, I'd leave this one alone.

Check out a Charles Daly, Springfield Mil-Spec, or Norinco. Lots more gun for just a little more money.

boomatic
    V.I.P. Member
    (1/6/03 8:23:17 pm)
    Re: Rock Island Armory
    Let me see if I can explain this delicately...

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY MIL SPEC!!!!!!!!!

If you start there, you'll know what good value is. Don't waste your money on RI Armory. IMNSHO Charles Daly is better, but I'd still save for the SA Mil SPec. $450 can get a new one and they are

GRRRRREAT!!!!!!!!

2003 Rose Bowl Champions!!!!
    Boom-a-tic
    *Ne'er-Do-Well Wannabe Junior Non-Staff Moderator of the Test Forum*

Im3rd
    (1/6/03 8:31:57 pm)
    Before you buy a Rock Island you might want to take a look at the new Auto Ordnance guns (NOT the old ones). AO used to have a bad name for turning out sub-par 1911s, but Kahr recently bought the company and has supposedly upgraded the product a lot.