1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

ruger 10/22 finish question

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by Paistemage, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Paistemage

Paistemage New Member

I'm going to get a Ruger 10/22 for target practice.

Anyone have any experience with the stainless finish? I know stainless is corrosion resistent, not rust proof.

I like the look of it, but wonder of long term hold up of the finish. I like the synthetic stock versus the wood,I think that will hold up well. I like the stainless look because it has more of a variety to the color of the rifle.

I am new to firearms. This will be my first weapon.
  2. Paistemage

Paistemage New Member

Mainly looking for any possible deterioration in the finish as compared tot he regular black
  3. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

I'm not sure of all the possibilities for the surface finish of Ruger 10/22 guns as supplied by Ruger but I can give you my experience when I Volquartsenized mine.

The receiver was painted black aluminum. I bead blasted the paint off and left it aluminum in the raw. That was done at least 10 years ago and the receiver still look good. The barrel was a Volquartsen stainless steel heavy match barrel left in the raw. It too has changed little in the interim. I also bead blasted the aluminum trigger assembly and it has held up fine too.

If you chosse to do the same then be aware some of the trigger guard assemblies, as I am told (?), are no longer aluminum but plastic. Also the gun must be stripped completely down to bead blast the parts and pieces. The tiny glass beads get into every nook and cranny and will totally gum up the action if not blown out first then washed out with Simple Green and water. All the glass beads MUST be out of the parts before reassembly.

LDBennett
  4. Paistemage