Ruger P-85

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by thiggy, Nov 4, 2003.

1. thiggy

thiggy New Member

Greetings, I'm a newbie to this forum, and If my post is in the wrong spot, I apologize.

I am interested in selling a pistol that I have had for several years and I am looking for guidance in pricing it. It is a 9mm Ruger P-85 in blue - no visible wear. I traded for it used a few years ago. It appears to be in perfect condition. I have shot about one box through it. It has a belt-clip holster and two mags. What would be a reasonable price to ask for this firearm?

I have about 1/2 case of Chinese (Norinco, I think) 9 mm ball ammo to sell also. Would I probably do better selling the gun separately from the ammo, or as a package deal?:confused:
  2. gpostal

gpostal Former Guest

welcome to the forum thiggy

someone that has a current blue book will be along soon , after you get a price that you like i would list it in our buy/sell/trade forum , i myself would list the ammo seperate
  3. pickenup

pickenup Active Member

thiggy;
    Welcome to the forum.

I would sell it seperate.
    Sell the ammo local, unless you know about shipping it. That can get expensive.

CG will be along sometime to give you his price. He says the "book" prices are a bunch of hooie.
  4. thiggy

thiggy New Member

How does one sell a firearm through the internet? Is it permissable to mail a gun, or is there some other method for an individual with no FFL to legally ship a gun to a purchaser?
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2003
  5. NRAJOE

NRAJOE New Member

Who ever buys it must send you a copy of their local dealers license. Then you ship it to the dealer...take the copy of the license with you when you ship it. UPS reps want to make sure it is actually going to a dealer. ;)
  6. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

Hi Thiggy.....welcome to TFF.

Your Ruger P-85 in excellent condition is worth about $300.
  7. CountryGunsmith

CountryGunsmith New Member