The Firearms Forum banner

Ruger SR1911 Commander

Tags
1911 ruger
8K views 26 replies 10 participants last post by  gdmoody 
#1 ·
At the shot show a few weeks ago Ruger showed the SR1911 Commander. Kyles gun shop in Ohio happened to have one yesterday with a ticket of 9 Bills on it.

#2 ·
No thanks. I will take the remington carry commander over the ruger in a heartbeat. For that matter, I will take my desert eagle commander over the ruger....just not that impressed with the ruger...

#3 ·
No thanks. I will take the remington carry commander over the ruger in a heartbeat. For that matter, I will take my desert eagle commander over the ruger....just not that impressed with the ruger...
I am in no way trying to start a pissing match. I do value DoubleD's opinion. What is it that does not impress you about the Ruger 1911? I have another 1911 on my long list but I am not an expert on 1911's. I have been looking at the Ruger and like the commander size. If you want to PM me to avoid opening up a can of worms that will work.

#4 ·
No problem. we all have our own opinions. I have held and fired one ruger 1911 and was not that impressed with it. I own 22 1911s and am continuing to add to that collection and I may end up with a ruger eventually, but there is a dozen others I would rather have before buying one. If the ruger is tops on your list, thats great, thats why there are so many different gun makers and different choices, more power to ya.

#5 ·
Old guy I am with Dan on this one. I had the SR 1911 and sold it because of 2 reasons. The grip safety is made of some type of pot metal or aluminum and it rattled quite a bit. The other reason was I made money on the gun. A guy bugged me to death to sell it to him and i did at a profit.
I have a Sig XO model one of the lower models that sig makes and it is a far better gun ii my opinion.