The Firearms Forum banner

S&W .40 Sigma trigger mod

69K views 52 replies 23 participants last post by  Rocketman1 
#1 ·
:cool::cool:

Having purchased a new VE Sigma .40 at christmas, I studied some
history of this Glock knock off afterwards. I have been shown a simple tip to improve trigger pull ( reduction ).

I though I would ask opinions concerning this...and any other views of this weapon.

( It was all I could afford for a carry gun, taking CCH this month , I
know there are better weapons , but did observe mostly favorable shoots on web. I have yet to shoot this gun ....)

:cool:

#3 ·
sigmas are good guns. IF YOU CAN GET USED TO THE 3 MILLION POUND TRIGGER. I have owned 2, one in 9mm and one in .40, they both shot very well, and functioned flawlwssly with everything from cheapy plinker loads to full power +p loads. i would certainly consider another if the price were right. Post the details on the trigger tips, im very curious...

#4 ·
:cool::cool:

Basic to do is : keep eye on Parts

1. have good set of Punches - easy to punch

2. At rear of gun , push pin out.

3. Pull up on Hammer assembly, maneuver
carefully up and out.

4. Remove springs as listed below.

5. Remove rear TAIL spring.

6. Remove OUTER spring , leave smaller INNER
spring . Make sure end of INNER spring fits
good on small round circle of Hammer assbly.

This does not affect Hammer strike strength...
and I was told that the two springs being removed were added AFTER Glock sued S&W
and won the case ( copying Glock on Receiver )

Attachments

#5 ·
i'll be damned, i didnt think there was a way to improve the trigger pull on those things. Have you tried it yet?

#6 ·
There has been a lot on this subject on the S&W forum.
You state you haven't fired it yet. Fire it and if you don't like it, then if you find it unsatisfactory look for some improvements.
The trigger has always been controversial on this model. There are so many fixes(?) on the S&W forum I can't count them all.