S&W mod 27 leading problem

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by oldgunfan, Jan 4, 2009.

1. oldgunfan

oldgunfan Member

I have a Smith mod 27-2 that is leading up real bad, yesterday I took my mod 19 smith and the mod 27 to the range I was shooting the same ammo in both 146grn magnus HBWC 3grn win 231, and 158grn LWC 5.2grn unique. I haven't had the mod 27 very long, it was clean before I shot it but I can't remember if I have shot lead in it before, anyway after the shooting session I was cleaning them and the 27 was very leaded up. I used an outers electro cleaner and got almost all of it out, but should I be concerned that the mod-27 was in such bad shape and the mod-19 wasn't. And if so should I send it to smith&Wesson to look at it. Thanks
  2. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

I've been reloading for 30+ years. 3.0 grains of 231 should not be leading up any revolver bore. 5.2 of Unique might be a problem with a soft lead bullet. Maybe.

There are tens of thousands of 27-2s still in use and leading has never been a problem with them. I would change bullets before sending the gun back to Smith.
  3. oldgunfan

oldgunfan Member

Yea I was thinking the same thing, I have been loading for maybe 20+ years and although I usually use 2.7grn titegroup with the 148grn HBWC all of my other 38/357's have never had a problem with my loads and the other smith I was shooting that day didn't. I'm starting to think my mod-27 is either out of time or the barrel is tighter, I got it at a gun show about a year ago, It doesn't look like it has been shot much. I'm at a loss.
  4. eka

eka New Member

Oldgunfan,