1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

S&W Model 610 vs. Ruger GP 161

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by wookie810, Jan 8, 2008.

1. wookie810

wookie810 New Member

I am interested in buying my first revolver. I have two choices in mind The S&W 10mm model 610 and the Ruger .357 mag GP161. I was wondering the advantages and disadvantages of both of the guns as far as ballistics, cost, durability, accuracy and overall performance as a hunting side arm and a recreational target shooter as well as a home defense firearm. I am kind of partial to the S&W because I used to own a .40 caliber S&W semi-auto but want something with a little bit more power and accuracy. I am new to revolvers and would like some honest opinions on the pros and cons before I go out and purchase either of these guns.
  2. demented

demented New Member

I'd take a pre-lock Smith over Ruger most any day. By that same token, I doubt I'll ever buy a trigger locked, MIM parts Smith. As for your caliber choices, the .357 will cost less to shoot, either factory or reloads. What are you planning on hunting? I consider the .357 to be a 50 yard shooter at best when going after deer size game. Either caliber will do fine for self/home defense. I prefer a big bore non magnum revolver due to the blast and flash of the .357, I would think full load 10mm's would be as bad.
  3. wookie810

wookie810 New Member

I plan on hunting deer, but where I hunt in the U.P. there are a lot of black bears and would feel a lot safer with something that would stop one if the need should arise. I highly doubt that would ever happen but I would rather have it if I need it. I would use this gun as a backup. Mostly I hunt deer with my .308 Winchester but if it didn't work or I had to close a shot it would be the one I use.