S&W Model 610 vs. Ruger GP 161

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by wookie810, Jan 8, 2008.

1. wookie810

wookie810 New Member

I am interested in buying my first revolver. I have two choices in mind The S&W 10mm model 610 and the Ruger .357 mag GP161. I was wondering the advantages and disadvantages of both of the guns as far as ballistics, cost, durability, accuracy and overall performance as a hunting side arm and a recreational target shooter as well as a home defense firearm. I am kind of partial to the S&W because I used to own a .40 caliber S&W semi-auto but want something with a little bit more power and accuracy. I am new to revolvers and would like some honest opinions on the pros and cons before I go out and purchase either of these guns.
  2. demented

demented New Member

I'd take a pre-lock Smith over Ruger most any day. By that same token, I doubt I'll ever buy a trigger locked, MIM parts Smith. As for your caliber choices, the .357 will cost less to shoot, either factory or reloads. What are you planning on hunting? I consider the .357 to be a 50 yard shooter at best when going after deer size game. Either caliber will do fine for self/home defense. I prefer a big bore non magnum revolver due to the blast and flash of the .357, I would think full load 10mm's would be as bad.
  3. wookie810

wookie810 New Member

I plan on hunting deer, but where I hunt in the U.P. there are a lot of black bears and would feel a lot safer with something that would stop one if the need should arise. I highly doubt that would ever happen but I would rather have it if I need it. I would use this gun as a backup. Mostly I hunt deer with my .308 Winchester but if it didn't work or I had to close a shot it would be the one I use.
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2008
  4. demented

demented New Member