SA 1911 a1 mil spec

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by hd49, Apr 15, 2009.

1. hd49

hd49 New Member

I have a 1911 A1 Springfield Arms that hasn't had many rounds fired through it. It shoots all over the map. Is there any thing I can do to make it a better, or more accurate gun? Thanks I am new to this so I would value any help.
  2. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member

so many things you can do . it depends on how much you want to spend. but a barrel and bushing is the first place to start. there are many companies that supply what you need. i happen to use kings gun works the prices are resonable and they've been fixing up and selling parts for the 45 auto long before it became cottage industry. google kings and check out their prices. you can get a barrel / bushing matched set for cheap.
  3. hd49

hd49 New Member

Thanks Oscar.
    Is this stuff I can do or do I need a gunsmith?
  4. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member

thats the great thing about the 45 it can be done at home in a matter of minutes. have you ever removed the slide ? very simple and the instruction should be in the manual. getting the slide stop to line up is a bit tricky but again clear instructions in the manual. the matched barrel bushing combo is a drop in part. it will improve your shooting as long as you're doing your part. lots of free info on the "net" as well
  5. kingcuke

kingcuke Member

Are you shooting offhand or off a rest? I have a SA 1911A1 mil spec and off hand the tiny front sight can sometimes be hard to see and keep a consistent sight profile.. Mine seems reasonably accurate, but the front sight is on the primitive side.
  6. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member

good point, if after going to a match type barrel bushing combination the sights should be changed. lots of options there . and well worth what ever they cost.
  7. hd49

hd49 New Member